Day 3. Visions of Murder Danced In Her Head

By 9a.m. this morning I consumed gelatin, apple cider vinegar, delicious fermented ‘kraut, and raw garlic (minced and swallowed like a pill even though it’s really a weapon).  Homicidal images danced before my eyes; my guts the scene of the crime.  A bloody battle going on that no one would be foolish enough to call a civil war.  And my actions–my smart, nourishing, Whole30-ing choices–leave no question as to whose side I’m on.

Oh yes, my guys, the Good Bacteria, are well supplied at long last.  They are cute and plump, content from feasting on the delicious foods they are now provided three times daily.  They are probably curled up in colonies, leaning against my gut walls, so happy together.  Tonight they’ll sleep well and awaken stronger and ready to work.  Heck, they’ll probably multiply.

My victims aren’t faring so well.  You see, scattered around this scene of digestive peace lay corpses, lots of corpses, the garlic fumes too much to bear.  Excellent to see but my work isn’t done- there are still a bunch of Bad Bacteria hanging on.  Some are rumored to be part of a gang called The Candidas, and there are a LOT of them.

But here’s the thing–  I brought them into this world and I can take them out.  Sugars and undigested food bits feed these little bastards, pumps them up, lets them multiply like crazy.  The flip side is they starve easily.  And starved they will be in the coming days, months, lifetime.  Gasping for air, begging for food, only to be denied.  If they like it I don’t serve it, plain and simple.  It’s the perfect murder.

What did you say- I’m taking this digestive health thing a little too seriously?  Well what on earth would make you think that?  :-)

***

I remained compliant through Day 3.  Photos and meals below.  Not much variety as you’ll see but that was sort of on purpose as I prepared large amounts of the same veggies this morning to be eaten through this particularly crazy and overscheduled day.  The headaches stayed with me but that’s fine I’m still in Bring It mode.

Learning:   Pretty sure my gut needs healing and in addition to a whole foods lifestyle, these are the things I’m doing for the love of gut health; and the more I learn the more I’ll do:

  • take raw garlic three times a week, Mon.-Wed.-Fri. (too afraid of the odor to take it every morning)
  • Great Lakes gelatin once or twice a day
  • eat raw fermented ‘kraut daily
  • drink at least one glass of water with a few teaspoons of Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar daily

I also take a probiotic but mostly because I am too cheap to throw away what I have.  That said, it’s the last I’ll ever buy as eating lots of fermented foods and prebiotics (favorite foods of good bacteris) seems far superior.  Here’s a list of prebiotics (scroll down it’s about hallway through): Feed Your Good Bacteria These Things     Definitely will learn to eat dandelion greens; I already eat most of the others.

photo (10)

Breakfast:

  • Kale Smoothie:  (1 cup coconut water, 1/4 avocado, 2 cups kale, 1 cup pineapple, juice of half a lime, 1/2 teaspoon spirulina, 1 tablespoon gelatin)
  • Grass-fed beef/hamburger patty
  • Raw & Local Sauerkraut
  • Fresh Green Squash steamed tossed in coconut oil and sea salt.
  • Sweet Potato
  • 1 glove garlic (minced and swallowed like a pill)
  • 1 probiotic pill

lunch

Lunch  (drank glass of water with 3 teaspoons Braggs ACV before eating)

  • Grass-fed beef/hamburger patty
  • Raw & Local Sauerkraut
  • Fresh Green Squash & Carrots steamed then tossed in coconut oil and sea salt.

dinner

Dinner

  • 2 eggs cooked in coconut oil
  • Walnuts
  • Sweet potato
  • Fresh Green Squash & Carrots steamed then tossed in coconut oil and sea salt.

No snacks (yay!)  but did have 3 cups of coffee, even worse than yesterday’s two.    

Leave a Reply

